OCUSD #220 BOARD MINUTES

July 16, 2018

Regular Board Meeting

- 1. Meeting called to order by Dr. Wills at 6:30 p.m.
- 2. Roll call, present were Wills, Buck, Griffin, Haugh, Guzman, Zimmermann, and Baker
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance
- 4. Motion by Baker, second by Haugh to approve the following resignations:
 - Faith McNamee as OHS Assistant Track Coach
 - Rebecca Bielawski as Oregon Elementary 5th Grade Math Teacher
 - Holly Phillips as District Bus Aide
 - Roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.
- 5. Motion by Baker, second by Guzman to approve the following employments:
 - Nina Miranda as Oregon Elementary Cook
 - Dy Mowry as OHS Student Council Advisor
 - Sheila Calhoun as Oregon Elementary Special Education Aide
 - Angela Harrolle as Oregon Elementary Special Education Aide
 - Emily Kirkland as Oregon Elementary Instructional Aide

Roll call vote. All voted aye. Motion carried.

- 6. Motion by Baker, second by Zimmermann to approve the following reassignments:
 - Angela Burgett from OHS Junior Class co-dean to OHS Senior class dean
 - Diane Brink from Oregon Elementary Recess Aide to Special Education Aide Roll call vote. All voted aye. Motion carried
- 7. Motion by Baker, second by Griffin to approve the following contract renewals:
 - Thomas Mahoney as district Superintendent
 - Adam Larsen as district Assistant Superintendent
 - Mike Lawton as Athletic Director
 - Kip Crandall as DLR Junior High Principal
 - Kelli Virgil as Oregon Elementary Principal
 - Ryan Huels as Oregon Elementary Assistant Principal
 - Steve Burrs as district Custodial Director
 - Bill Nesemeier as district Maintenance Director
 - Marty Boyd as district Food Service Director
 - Shawn Gadow as district Technology Director
 - Steve Stinson as district Network Administrator
 - Zach Van Velzer as district Transportation Mechanic
 - Angela Burgett as district Administrative Assistant
 - Alexis Cook as district Administrative Assistant
 - Joan Rasmussen as district Administrative Assistant

Roll call vote. All voted aye. Motion carried.

- 8. Dr. Wills presented the district's mission statement "educate students to be lifelong learners who are productive, responsible citizens."
- Recognition Dr. Deininger recognized the Oregon High School custodial staff for their hard work on preparing the building for the start of school as well as their help with moving Dr. Deininger into the building.

- 10. Public Comment –Diana Stienmetz thank Dr. Mahoney for working with the OESPA union on their first time in interest based bargaining as well as the board members who were part of the negotiations team.
- 11. Motion by Buck, second by Zimmermann to approve the consent agenda as presented. Dr. Mahoney reviewed a few of the invoices paid in the month of July. He also provided a preliminary year-end fund balance for revenues and expenditures. He stated that the tentative deficit for FY 18 was (\$512,225.14). He stated he would have accurate year-end numbers once the audit was complete. Roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.
- 12. Motion by Griffin, second by Haugh to approve the OESPA contract for years 2018-2023. Roll call vote. All voted aye. Motion carried.
- 13. Motion by Haugh, second by Guzman to approve the correction to Medicare withholdings for the years of 2015-2018. Roll call vote. All voted aye. Motion carried.
- 14. Administrator Reports:
 - Presentation by Shawn Gadow, district's Director of Technology. He reviewed the annual questionnaire provided to staff. Staff shows steady support of the department. Mr. Gadow reviewed the projects for the year, which included Chromebook labs, color copiers in each building office, and all-in-one computer labs. The technology department has been working this summer with Chana to rewire buildings, upgrade phone systems, update bell system and create a ticket support system similar to OCUSD.
- 15. New Business: None
- 16. Old Business: None
- 17. Other matters before the board: None
- 18. President's Prerogative: None
- 19. Motion by Buck, second by Haugh to adjourn. All voted aye. Motion carried.
- 20. Meeting ended at 6:45 p.m.

Board President – OCUSD #220

Board Secretary – OCUSD #220